Lincoln Marathon Recap

The weather did not cooperate with many of our requests for the Lincoln Marathon this weekend.  Even so, LRC Racing represented well among the competition, and some handled the humid and windy conditions better than others.  The men’s masters team made significant noise, led by 46 year old Tim Larsen who not only won the men’s masters marathon in a masters team record of 2:50:36, but Tim’s time was also good enough for 10th on the men’s open charts.  Brett Daugherty (3:14:48) and Darin Schlake (3:29:10) also used their experience to get through the 26.2 mile race. On the women’s side, Ann Bauermeister (3:47:21) was the lone woman to tackle the full marathon distance this year.  In the open division, Chad Sellers (2:43:20) and Ryan Regnier (2:43:57) took home the 4th and 5th place awards in the men’s race, while Tim Larsen finished 10th overall!  Derek Sekora (3:12:15) finally got his first taste of the marathon distance after signing up the past five years only to get injured before the race.

In the men’s half marathon, Trevor Vidlak (1:11:51) was the only LRC member to take home a Top 10 award, however, the team had a large pack just behind as Andrew Jacob (1:13:56), Ivan Ivanov (1:14:16), Ryan Dostal (1:14:38) and Logan Watley (1:14:56) finished 11th-14th, respectively.  Jacob Kaemmer (1:17:46), a pretty injured Tom Nichols (1:19:59) and Ryan Salem (1:23:12) also competed at the half marathon distance for the men.  on the master’s side, after Ivan followed Tom Woods (1:15:48), Jason Schmaderer (1:23:58), Jeff Hansen (1:27:40), Kevin Burke (1:29:07), and Kerry McDermott (1:37:08).

For the women, Bridget Easley (1:23:17), Hayley Sutter (1:23:41) and Erica Doering (1:27:40) all placed in the top 10: 3rd, 4th and 9th, respectively.  Shelby Tucker (1:31:23) also ran, finishing 21st overall and 4th in her age group.

And while most everyone was running a half or full marathon in the challenging weather conditions, Craig Christians sneakily won the master’s race at the Invest in Yourself 5k in Omaha.

Congratulations to all who ran today!

Leave a Comment